Photos: Estevan Sharks provincials and awards night

Sharks competed at provincial in late March and held awards night on March 30.

ESTEVAN – The Estevan Sharks water polo club competed at the spring provincials in Saskatoon on March 25 and 26. 

This marked the previous competitiveness for the 2022-23 time.

“It was wonderful to see the improvement from that very first match to the previous for our athletes,” the Sharks stated in a information launch. “We are so proud of all our athletes and how really hard they have labored this calendar year to strengthen their abilities and endurance in the pool. Water polo is a challenging activity and to these athletes, we congratulate you on a good year.”

For the mini athletes, who are underneath 10 decades of age, the Sharks despatched two teams to this match. There was a overall of six groups for the minis to contend from.

The Sharks White team, which consisted of the more mature team of mini gamers, brought residence a silver medal. The blue crew played tough and solid all through the weekend, the club mentioned in the news launch.

In the atom age group for athletes under 13 several years of age, the atom boys have been mixed with players from the Saskatoon Pirates workforce to compete at the match. There were only two other atom boys’ teams at this event, so the teams performed every other two times. The Estevan-Saskatoon staff came home with a gold medal from this tournament.

Due to the fact of minimal quantities of woman athletes, the atom and bantam-amount girls’ groups ended up blended for this match. This staff included athletes 10-14 years of age which manufactured for a vast variety of competencies and abilities.

“Our athletes attempted difficult and came household with wonderful reminiscences from an awesome weekend,” the Sharks claimed.

The bantam boys are athletes less than 15 years of age. For this event, they were being put together with the Saskatoon Pirates in a four-crew pool. There were being some higher-scoring, speedy-paced online games and they arrived property with bronze medals.

Keegan Mennie-Kindlein competed in open up men’s, and Mahlyn Bomberak, Ryan Hoeving and Jennika Linthicum competed on Crew Sask. in the open women’s division.

 The Sharks wrapped up the period on March 30 with a supper, awards night and enjoyment swim.

The plan thanked mini coaches Alan Smelt, Kristy Jones, Irene Grening and Amanda Johnson for training the youngest athletes about the intricacies of the sport, with 23 athletes amongst ages 5 and 10. 

“Your advice and persistence with these athletes was appreciated,” the Sharks mentioned.

They also lauded Malcolm Sherling and Mahlyn Bomberak, the minis’ bantam-degree volunteers who would support with tactics and tournaments.

This age group also follows the seal pup method, teaching primary swimming techniques, together with mastering drinking water polo techniques and techniques related to local community swimming lessons. 

There are 3 talent degrees in the plan:

Participate: Leo Cozman, Milana Dotsenko and Nicolai Mitchel

Level 1:  Raymond Johnson, Sawyer Klotz, Matvii Maidanski, Jackson Prefontaine, Gavin Tinant, Aksel Senholt, Simon Corridor and Mavrick Martindale.

Amount 3:  Ayla Smelt, Jaxon Ward, Eli Sclear, Laine Petterson, Leighton Petterson, Eoin Jones, Willow Van Sickle, Jaxson Reinhardt, Grace Trepanier, Elijah Vanstone, Brynna Sherling and Rosalie Horrocks.

The atom level athletes had been coached by Chad Knoll, Melissa Enns and Lucinda Milford. These athletes are performing at honing their techniques and how to work with each other as a team. The Sharks congratulate them for their enhancement all through the 12 months and want them good things in h2o polo.

The athletes and coaching workers voted on the pursuing awards: Carter Yunick (top atom male athlete and atom MVP), Jennika Linthicum (major atom female athlete), Meredith Knoll and Hudson Enns (most sportsmanlike), and Sebastian Martens (most enhanced).

The bantam stage athletes were being coached by Neal Linthicum, Tristan Threinen, Logan Dalziel and Lily Knoll. This crew challenged each individual other athletically all through procedures to improve their talent stage to produce stronger athletes, the club stated. 

“There ended up lots of smiles, laughs and tales swapped when they obtained collectively and their in-follow competitions were being improved by their camaraderie.”

The coaching workers selected the pursuing award winners: Mahlyn Bomberak (bantam MVP), Jennika Linthicum (top rated woman athlete), Tyler Gillies (major male athlete), Ryan Hoeving (greatest defensive player), Malcom Sherling (most enhanced), and Marvin Blue and Keegan Mennie-Kindlein (most sportsmanlike).