Here’s everyone recognized at 2023’s Premier’s Awards

The staff driving trapper instruction workshops at the North Slave Correctional Complicated is among the winners of 2023’s Premier’s Awards.

Trapper instruction, begun in 2022 and designed to spark reconnection with tradition as a result of the sharing of trapping capabilities, grew as a software this 12 months and is now currently being supplied at the Yellowknife Women’s Centre and Spruce Bough housing facility.

Workforce at Yellowknife’s jail and the Department of Setting and Weather Transform received the Premier’s Award for Collaboration Excellence for their function on the software.

Recipients incorporate Vincent Casey, Scott McQueen, Donavan Boucher, Carl Williams, Everett McQueen, Clayton Bell, Daniel Beaulieu, Scott Mills, Jayson Quesada, Zoe Share and the late Adrian Lizotte.

The Premier’s Award for Crew Excellence went to the Aurora Analysis Institute’s Stem outreach staff, which the territory reported experienced “made major strides in advertising and marketing science, engineering, engineering and mathematics education and learning in the local community, inspiring young minds to take a look at these vital fields.”



That workforce contains Annika Trimble, Hilary Turko, Chris Black and Kelly Kamo-McHugh.

Winners seem at the Premier’s Awards in Yellowknife. Image: GNWT
Premier Caroline Cochrane talking at the Premier’s Awards. Photograph: GNWT

A team that visited NWT communities to assemble opinions on the territorial government’s Lacking and Murdered Indigenous Women and Women draft motion program acquired the award for Indigenous Partnership Excellence.

Recipients involve Elizabeth (Sabet) Biscaye, Brenda Norris, Tina Wrigley, Louisa Alunik, Johnny Ongahak, Jill Pegg, Tanya Ashley, Teresa Hayward, Yolande Chapman and Marie Speakman.

Barb Lennie – who has been Inuvik community health’s nurse in demand considering the fact that 1979, including up to 43 a long time of support – obtained the Dave Ramsden Occupation Excellence Award, presented to folks who have supplied superb contributions to the GNWT for 20 several years or additional.



The Kristine McLeod Emerging Indigenous Leader Award was presented to Mahalia Yakeleya Newmark, the very first Indigenous legislative assembly advisor in the Northwest Territories, who has been recognized numerous times for her function empowering Indigenous individuals, and primarily Indigenous girls.

“Each award recipient signifies the extremely ideal of what the Northwest Territories has to offer,” reported Premier Caroline Cochrane in a press release.

“They’ve made significant, lasting impacts in their respective fields and have worked tirelessly to make NWT communities better areas to dwell.”