‘Anatomy of a Fall’ Triumphs at European Film Awards

Justine Triet’s courtroom drama “Anatomy of a Fall” triumphed at the 36th European Film Awards, using statuettes for best movie, director, screenwriter and actress at the ceremony, which took spot Saturday in Berlin. It had been earlier announced that it experienced received the greatest enhancing prize as well.

“Anatomy of a Fall” won the Palme d’Or at Cannes, and just lately took the screenplay and global aspect awards at the Gothams, but was not chosen to characterize France in the global feature movie class of the Oscars. In spite of that setback, Triet reported the film would continue to compete for other categories at the Oscars. “Now we are in the race, of class. We proceed down that highway,” she said at a press convention subsequent the ceremony in Berlin.

Triet, who co-wrote the screenplay with Arthur Harari, explained that they had prepared it for Sandra Hüller, winner of the very best actress award. “I feel she is the ideal actress to embody the complexity of this character,” she reported. Triet included that she did not want to make Hüller’s character, a novelist accused of the murder of her spouse, “a victim … she is a woman who is judged for her independence, her sexuality, her innovative prowess, features deemed suspicious when embodied by a female.”

Hüller, who was competing versus herself, for her spine-chilling part in “The Zone of Desire,” asked the viewers to sit in silence for a minute and “imagine peace.”

Prior to the ceremony, Laurent Sénéchal was named as winner of the editing award for “Anatomy of a Slide.”

Mads Mikkelsen gained the very best actor award for Nikolaj Arcel’s historic drama “The Promised Land,” which was in competition in Venice. Mikkelsen said the director experienced taken “10 yrs to connect with me … remember to do not hold out yet another 10 many years to get in touch with.” The film also took the awards for Rasmus Videbæk’s cinematography and Kicki Ilander’s costume design.

Molly Manning Walker’s “How to Have Sexual intercourse,” about hard-partying youngsters at a Mediterranean vacation resort, took the European Discovery award. The movie, which nabbed the Un Certain Regard Award at Cannes, functions a standout effectiveness by Mia McKenna-Bruce.

Anna Hints received the documentary award for “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood,” which focuses on a team of females as they gather in a standard Estonian sauna. Hints shipped a song alternatively of a speech.

Other awards recipients provided Isabel Coixet (European Achievement in World Cinema), Béla Tarr (Honorary Award), British actor Vanessa Redgrave (European Life span Achievement Award), Lithuanian producer Uljana Kim (Eurimages Worldwide Co-Manufacturing Award), and Turkish entrepreneur Güler Sabancı (European Sustainability Award – Prix Movie4Local weather).

The big class awards have been voted on by the 4,600 associates of the European Movie Academy.


European Film:
WINNER “Anatomy of a Fall” (Anatomie D’une Chute), directed by Justine Triet, developed by Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion (France)
“Fallen Leaves” (Kuolleet Lehdet), directed by Aki Kaurismäki, generated by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff and Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
“Green Border” (Zielona Granica), directed by Agnieszka Holland, manufactured by Marcin Wierzchosławski, Fred Bernstein and Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
“Me Captain” (Io Capitano), directed by Matteo Garrone, made by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee and Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
“The Zone of Interest,” directed by Jonathan Glazer, manufactured by James Wilson and Ewa Puszczyńska (U.K., Poland, U.S.)

European Director:
WINNER Justine Triet for “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
Matteo Garrone for “Me Captain”
Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Screenwriter:
WINNER Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for “Anatomy of a Fall”
Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko and Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
İlker Çatak and Johannes Duncker for “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Actress:
WINNER Sandra Hüller in “Anatomy of a Fall”
Eka Chavleishvili in “Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry”
Alma Pöysti in “Fallen Leaves”
Mia Mckenna-Bruce in “How to Have Sex”
Leonie Benesch in “The Teachers’ Lounge”
Sandra Hüller in “The Zone of Interest”

European Actor:
Thomas Schubert in “Afire”
Jussi Vatanen in “Fallen Leaves”
Josh O’Connor in “La Chimera”
WINNER Mads Mikkelsen in “The Promised Land”
Christian Friedel in “The Zone of Interest”

European Documentary:
“Apolonia, Apolonia,” directed by Lea Glob (Denmark, Poland)
“Four Daughters,” directed by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
“Motherland,” directed by Hanna Badziaka and Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
“On the Adamant,” directed by Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)
WINNER “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood,” directed by Anna Hints (Estonia, France, Iceland)

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci:
“20,000 Species of Bees,” directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
WINNER “How to Have Sex,” directed by Molly Manning Walker (U.K., Greece)
“La Palisiada,” directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
“Safe Put,” directed by Juraj Lerotić (Croatia, Slovenia)
“The Silent Migration,” directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
“Vincent Should Die,” directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)

European Animated Attribute Movie:
“A Greyhound of a Female,” directed by Enzo d’Alò (Luxembourg, Italy, Ireland, U.K., Latvia, Estonia, Germany)
“Chicken for Linda!,” directed by Chiara Malta and Sébastien Laudenbach (France, Italy)
WINNER “Robot Dreams,” directed by Pablo Berger (Spain, France)
“The Amazing Maurice,” directed by Toby Genkel (Germany, U.K.)
“White Plastic Sky,” directed by Tibor Bánóczki and Sarolta Szabó (Hungary, Slovakia)

European Small Film:
“27,” directed by Flóra Anna Buda (France, Hungary)
“Aqueronte,” directed by Manuel Muñoz Rivas (Spain)
“Daydreaming So Vividly About Our Spanish Holiday seasons,” directed by Christian Avilés (Spain)
“Flores Del Otro Patio,” directed by Jorge Cadena (Switzerland, Colombia)
WINNER “Hardly Doing work,” directed by Full Refusal: Susanna Flock, Robin Klengel, Leonhard Müllner and Michael Stumpf (Austria)

European Youthful Viewers Award
“Longing for the Planet,” Jenna Hasse (Switzerland)
“One in a Million,” Joya Thome (Germany)
WINNER “Scrapper,” Charlotte Regan (U.K.)

European Cinematography
Rasmus Videbæk for “The Promised Land”

European Modifying:
Laurent Sénéchal for “Anatomy of a Fall”

European Generation Design and style:
Emita Frigato for “La Chimera”

European Costume Structure:
Kicki Ilander for “The Promised Land”

European Make-Up and Hair:
Ana López-Puigcerver, Belén López-Puigcerver, David Martí, Montse Ribé for “Society of the Snow”

European Unique Score:
Markus Binder for “Club Zero”

European Sound:
Johnnie Burn off, Tarn Willers for “The Zone of Interest”

European Visual Outcomes:
Félix Bergés, Laura Pedro for “Society of the Snow”